Thank You, Globe!

I needed access to the Internet but didn’t want to pay for a monthly phone line, so I ended up with a Globe Tattoo USB Internet Prepaid Dongle.

It set me back PHP995, but I liked how they’re so small and convenient. Just plug in the palm-sized USB stick into your PC and surf away.

Why the provider Globe? …Simply because most of the people I know are Globe users.

BIG mistake.

Supposedly, users pay only PHP5.00 per 15 minutes of Internet usage…But when I surfed for 44 minutes and 56 seconds, I was charged PHP20.00! This wasn’t the first time the overcharging happened. It has also happened before.

I called to complain, for sure. But it was a futile pursuit.

Here’s how our conversation went:

Me:  I used only 44 minutes and 56 seconds of Internet but PHP20.00 was deducted…how come? This is the second time it’s happened…

Agent:  Sorry for the inconvenience. Can I have your number?

Memy number

Agent:  Thank you. Let me clarify, do you have an active subscription for browsing?

Me:  No.

Agent:  Thank you. Our Time Based Browsing is PHP5.00 per 15 minutes. You will be charged PHP5.00 regardless whether you used the 15 minutes or not.

Me: I know. But for less than 45 minutes, only PHP15.00 should have been deducted, right? But PHP20.00 was deducted. (I hate repeating myself, but what can I do? :P)

Agent:  As checked, only PHP15.00 were charged from your account and not PHP20.00.

Me:  My balance is PHP61.50 from PHP81.50, isn’t it? (Thought he could trick me, huh?!)

Agent:  You will be charged for the whole 15 minutes whether there is browsing activity or none/idle. Succeeding connections will be charged PHP5 for 15 minutes.

Me: As I said, I used the Internet for only 44 minutes and 56 seconds so it was still within the [3] 15-minute session. (Had to repeat myself. Again. tsk tsk)

Agent:  My apology for the inconvenience, but all your transactions are recorded and system-generated.

Me: Anyway, you can’t give me back the PHP5.00 that I didn’t use, right? What can I do to prevent this from happening? (The conversation was getting nowhere. The agent wasn’t addressing the issue. So although it wasn’t my fault, I wanted to know what could be done to ensure that it won’t happen for the third, fourth, or fifth time.)

After waiting foooreeeeveeer, a reply finally came…

Agent:  Sorry for the late response. I encountered technical glitch. Thank you for using Talk2Globe Chat! I’m glad to have served you today.

Yeah, right. What an agent! Thank you very much, Globe! Great service!

About Ace Jackson

Food lover. Travel enthusiast. Linguist. ESL Instructor. Entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in Services and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment